Program

The Ptolemy Miniconference was held
Thursday and Friday, March 22-23, 2001, Claremont Hotel, Berkeley.

We will be posting 2 up pdf versions of many of the talks and posters shortly.

Thursday, March 22

7:30 Continental Breakfast

8:30 Welcome (pdf) and Overview of Models of Computation (pdf)
Edward A. Lee, University of California, Berkeley
eal at eecs
Abstract

8:50 A Ptolemy Implementation Of The Transcend System For Fault Detection And Isolation Of Dynamic Systems (pdf)
Eric-J Manders and Gautam Biswas, Vanderbilt University
manders@vuse.vanderbilt.edu
Abstract

9:10 A Ptolemy Based Optical Network Simulator (pdf)
Hasan I. Saleheen, Corning Incorporated
SaleheenH@corning.com
Abstract

9:30 Design and Verification of 3G Wireless Applications in Agilent ADS (pdf)
Josť Luis Pino, Agilent EESof
jpino@agilent.com
Abstract

9:50 Rapid prototyping of RADAR signal processing systems using Ptolemy Classic (pdf)
Hans Schurer, Patrick Meyer, Jan Hunink,,THALES Naval Systems Netherlands,
Xavier Warzee, THALES Optronique, and Denis Aulagnier, THALES Airborne Sytems
schurer@signaal.nl
Abstract

10:10 Break

10:30 DistOpt: A Ptolemy-based Tool to Model and Evaluate the Solution of Optimization Problems in Distributed Environments(pdf)
Arturo Losi, Universita' degli Studi di Cassino
losi@unicas.it
Abstract

10:50 Adaptive Computing System (ACS) Domain for Implementing DSP Algorithms in Reconfigurable Hardware (pdf)
John C. Zaino, BAE Systems
john.c.zaino@lmco.com
Abstract

11:10 Three minute presentations by poster authors

Posters

Integrating the JHDL Design Environment into Ptolemy II (pdf)
Michael J. Wirthlin, Brigham Young University
wirthlin@ee.byu.edu
Abstract

Mescal (pdf)
Scott Weber, UC Berkeley
sjweber@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

System behavior analysis with UML and Ptolemy II (pdf)
Xavier Warzee,Thomson-CSF Optronique
xavier.warzee@tco.thomson-csf.com,
Abstract

Heterochronous Dataflow in Ptolemy II (pdf)
Brian Vogel, UC Berkeley
vogel@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

A wireless network simulator for 3rd generation cellular networks based on Ptolemy II (pdf)
Wolfgang Rave, Jens Voigt, Thomas Koehler, and Gerhard Fettweis, Dresden University of Technology/Radioplan GmbH, Dresden, Germany
Jens.Voigt@radioplan.com
Abstract

Using Kahn Process Networks for Modeling Embedded Systems (pdf)
Kees A. Vissers, Bart Kienhuis, UC Berkeley
vissers@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract - TBA

A Co-ordination Model and Algebra of Domain Polymorphism (pdf)
Farhad Mavaddat, Univ. of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
mavaddat@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Modeling of Hierarchical Multi-Modal Systems in Ptolemy II (pdf)
John Koo, UC Berkeley
koo@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Specification of Control Flow in Ptolemy and Application to Lego Mindstorms (pdf)
Xiaojun Liu, UC Berkeley
liuxj@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Distributed Modeling and Design in Ptolemy II (pdf)
Jie Liu, Xiaojun Liu, Sonia Sachs,
UC Berkeley
liuj@eecs.berkeley.edu, liuxj@eecs.berkeley.edu, ssachs@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Ptolemy II in Embedded Signal Processing Architectures: Deriving Process Networks from Matlab (pdf)
Bart Kienhuis, LIACS at Leiden University
kienhuis@liacs.nl
Abstract

The Giotto Domain (pdf)
Ben Horowitz, UC Berkeley
bhorowit@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Higher Order Functions (pdf)
Jörn W. Janneck, UC Berkeley
janneck@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

PeaCE: Ptolemy extension as Codesign Environment (pdf)
Soonhoi Ha, Seoul National University, Korea
sha@cse.snu.ac.kr
Abstract

Discrete Time Dataflow in Ptolemy II (pdf)
C. Fong, UC Berkeley
chf@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

Code Generation in Ptolemy II (pdf)
Jeffrey Tsay, Shuvra S. Bhattacharyya1, Christopher Hylands2, Edward A. Lee2 , (1University of Maryland at College Park, 2 UC Berkeley)
ssb@eng.umd.edu
Abstract

12:15 Box Lunch

1:15 Poster Session

3:15 Scheduling and Code Generation in Cocentric System Studio (pdf)
Joseph T. Buck, Synopsys, Inc., Advanced Technology Group
jbuck@synopsys.com
Abstract

3:35 Introducing Dataflow in the VCC Discrete Event Environment
Bishnupriya Bhattacharya and Robert Shur, Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
bpriya@cadence.com
Abstract

3:55 Diposets and Concurrent System Semantics (pdf)
John Davis, II, IBM
davisjs@us.ibm.com
Abstract

4:15 Behavioral Primitives Analysis: An Approach for Selecting Models of Computation (pdf)
Ivan Jeukens, Marius Strum, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil
ijeukens@lme.usp.br
Abstract

4:35 Design Examples of Distributed Applications Based on the Use of Synchronized Clocks (pdf)
John C. Eidson, Randy Coverstone, Agilent Laboratories, Palo Alto, CA
john_eidson@agilent.com
Abstract

4:55 The Waveform Description Language : Moving from Implementation to Specification in Ptolemy II (pdf)
Ed Willink,, Chief Technical Consultant, Thales Research
Ed.Willink@rrl.co.uk
Abstract

5:00 Reception

6:30 - 8:00 Dinner

Dinner speaker: Hussein El-Ghoroury, Ellipsis Digital Systems
Title of talk: Design of Digital Communications SOCs

You must register in advance to attend the dinner.

Friday, March 23

7:30 Continental Breakfast

8:30 Overview of Ptolemy II (pdf)
Edward A. Lee, University of California, Berkeley
eal at eecs
Abstract

8:50 Architecture of Vergil, an Extensible UI for Ptolemy II (pdf)
Stephen Neuendorffer, UC Berkeley
neuendor@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

9:10 Extensions to the Ptolemy II Type System (pdf)
Yuhong Xiong and Edward A. Lee, UC Berkeley
yuhong@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

9:30 System-Level Modeling of Continuous and Discrete Dynamics (pdf)
Jie Liu, UC Berkeley
liuj@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

9:50 Visual Simulation of Electromechanical Systems in Ptolemy II (pdf)
C. Fong, UC Berkeley
chf@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

10:10 Break

10:30 An Approach to Executing Ptolemy Classic Models under Ptolemy II (pdf)
Ned Stoffel, Dwight Richards, Neil Smyth*, and Matt Goodman, Telcordia Technologies, Inc. (* Smyth is now with Altio)
ngs@research.telcordia.com
Abstract

10:50 Run-Time Models for Measurement and Control Systems and Their Support in Ptolemy II (pdf)
Jie Liu, Stan Jefferson, and Edward A. Lee, UC Berkeley/Agilent Technologies, Palo Alto, CA
liuj@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

11:10 A novel hierarchical and parallel model for wireless network simulations and its design using PtolemyII infrastructure (pdf)
Jens Voigt, Dresden University of Technology, Dresden, Germany
voigtje@ifn.et.tu-dresden.de
Abstract

11:30 System-Level Design - Semantics Project (pdf)
Tom Henzinger, Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, Edward A. Lee, Kees A. Vissers, Luciano Lavagno, and Jorn Janneck, UC Berkeley
vissers@eecs.berkeley.edu
Abstract

11:50 The Future of the Ptolemy Project (pdf)
Edward A. Lee, UC Berkeley
eal at eecs
Abstract

12:00 Box Lunch

1:30 Tutorial
You must register in advance to attend the tutorial, as space is limited.
Tutorial Description

3:00 Break

3:15 Tutorial (continued)

5:00 Adjourn